Events

Sat, 2017-07-01 - Sat, 2017-07-08

A new group, “Live.Learn.Grow” is providing opportunities in and around Bellevue for individuals to meet new people and expand their “vue.”

Individuals may now register for the following classes:

“Photography for Pre-Teens,” Saturday, July 1, 10 a.m.

“Photography for Teens,” Saturday, July 8, 10 a.m.

For more information or to register for the classes, go to the website bonafidebellevue.com.

Thu, 2017-06-08 - Sun, 2017-06-11

The Borough of Bellevue will celebrate the 150th anniversary of its founding with a wide variety of activities and events.

The sesquicentennial festivities begin Thursday, June 8, 7 p.m., with the Fireman’s Parade on Lincoln Avenue. Members of the 150th Club have priority seating.

After the parade, the carnival at the Northgate football field opens at 8 p.m. and runs until 10 p.m.

Friday, June 9, 6-9 p.m., the Bellevue Art Show takes place at PJR Photography and Studio, 31 N. Balph Ave.

The carnival at Northgate Alumni Stadium is open 7-11 p.m. on Friday.

Mon, 2017-05-29 - Sat, 2017-06-03

Upcoming events at Avalon Public Library include:

Tuesday, May 30, 6:30 p.m., Family Story Time, “Picnic Time.”

Wednesday, May 31, 10 a.m., Wednesday Walk. Meet at the YMCA Community Center.

Wednesday, May 31, 10:30 a.m., Babies and Books, for 0-2 year olds and their caregiver.

Wednesday, May 31, 12:30-1 p.m., Mother Goose on the Loose, program for toddlers ages 3 and under with their caregivers.

Thursday, June 1, 4:30-5:30 p.m., Drawing and Adult Coloring for ages 10 and up.

Thursday, June 1, 5:30 p.m., Writer’s Group for teens and adults. New members welcome.

Mon, 2017-05-29

The 71st annual Avonworth Community Memorial Day Parade is Monday, May 29, beginning at 10 a.m.

The parade route begins at Pittsburgh Street and Center Avenue in Emsworth, continues to Church Avenue in Ben Avon and ends at the Lance Cpl. Patrick Kenny Field on Ohio River Boulevard.

Services honoring Avonworth veterans begin at 11 a.m.In case of rain, services will be held at 11 a.m. in the Smith Center of Sacred Heart Church.

Tue, 2017-05-23

A community challenge volleyball match, Bellevue and Avalon police officers versus Northgate teachers and students, will be held Tuesday, May 23, 6 p.m., in the Northgate High School gymnasium.

Cost is $2 a person or $5 for the entire family.

Proceeds of the event will be donated to D.A.R.E., an organization advocating resisting drugs and violence.

A concession stand supporting Avalon and Bellevue PTOs will be available.

Fri, 2017-05-19

The public is invited to attend the dedication of a gazebo built in Jason Dilliott’s name, Friday, May 19, 7:30 p.m. at Northgate High School.

Jason Dilliott, a beloved band director in the Northgate School District, passed away Aug. 3, 2014. Mr. D. spent endless hours sharing his love of music and life.

Past or current band members interested in playing at the dedication are asked to contact Kathleen King, (412)715-5621 or Lori King at lking@northgate.k12.pa.us by May 12.

Thu, 2017-05-11

There will be a Career Fair, Thursday, May 11, 9 a.m.-noon, at the Knights of Columbus, 450 Lincoln Ave.

Over a dozen employers will be present, including Allegheny County, Amazon, Builders Guild/Union construction trades, Duquesne Light, FedEx Ground, Giant Eagle, Home Depot, McDonald’s, PNC Bank, Rivers Casino, the University of Pittsburgh, and more.

It is suggested that attendees review the Web sites of featured employers prior to attending the career fair and apply on-line for positions. Attendees should dress professionally and bring copies of their resumes.

Wed, 2017-05-03

The Northgate Middle/High School will host the show “Live on Stage, The Rain Forest.” Wednesday, May 3, 6:30 p.m. in the auditorium.

Attendees will be presented with the sights and sounds of the Amazon region’s tropical rain forest, including exotic birds, kinkajous, monkeys and snakes.

Presented by the non-profit organization Understanding Wildlife, Inc., the goal of the presentation is to educate and inspire people to get involved to make the world a better place for everyone, including animals.

Sat, 2017-04-29

The North Boros / Sewickley Area Meals on Wheels will hold a fund-raising lasagna dinner, Saturday, April 29, 4-6:30 p.m. at the St. James Lutheran Church fellowship hall located on 28 Pittsburgh St. in Emsworth.

Dinner includes lasagna, salad, dinner rolls, homemade dessert and beverage. Cost is $10 or $6 for smaller portions.